Sort of a diary with some life updates but also a log of media I'm consuming. I’ll try to update on a weekly basis.

Navigate

Archived

Diary/Log

12/18-12/24

Season’s greasons. My family isn’t particularly celebratory, so for the past few years we haven’t really done much during the holiday seasons (at least not that I can remember lol). But this year my relatives are staying over. I’m holed up in my room half the time, but I’m glad my parents seem more lively with the extra company.


Anyways, I found an alternative to crunchyroll for buying manga (thanks reddit). It’s Alibris, technically a book (and other stuff) seller, and it has nice prices. I ordered from them some weeks ago as an early christmas present to myself.

Overall, the prices were pretty good and arrived in a timely manner but free shipping is only to the US. The packaging isn’t as good as Rightstuf was, but it does the job. Also, instead of shipping it all in one box it’s actually separate, so my orders didn’t all come in on the same day.

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

MADK:read my thoughts on it here.



Iyagatteru Kimi ga Suki: Art is reminiscent of 80s style manga. But other than that, the story is just ok I guess. It has some interesting moments and ideas towards the topic of abusive relationships, but I just wasn’t really feeling this one.



Innocent Rouge: Art is great and it has a lot of potential. But I’m not completely invested in the plot yet and the dialogue also feels a bit stilted. This isn’t bad though and I do like it enough to probably continue it.



-Games Played-

Ghostpia: Maybe I have brain rot, but Sayoko and Yoru have strong sapphic undertones in their relationship.



Project Diva: I always come crawling back to this game like an addict.


Also I had such a hard time deciding what games to buy during the steam sale since I can’t just buy everything on my wishlist ;-; ultimately I bought Oneshot and Pocket Mirror ~ GoldenerTraum … but I’m so tempted to also get House in Fata Morgana (but I’m on a budget here and i already spent money on manga asldknvlsw)

12/11-12/17

Finals are over. This semester is over. Let’s fucking gooo!!

For my first semester at college, it honestly wasn’t that bad. Academically speaking, it actually felt easier than high school. I did extremely well in all my classes, which is good for me since I wanted to keep my scholarship and stuff. I’m one of those lucky ppl (in ‘merica) who doesn’t pay anything for college tehee. (my downfall is imminent but for this moment let me bask in my heightened ego). I was expecting to have a very rough first year so this has been a pleasant surprise. But who knows, second semester could be when all hell breaks loose. For now though, it’s winter break! Time to hibernate.

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

The Yellow Wallpaper: cool short story where the narrator goes insane, also says stuff about the treatment of women during the Victorian era.



Maria no Danzai: one of those bullying revenge stories. Except it’s a mother getting revenge this time. (sort of like the movie/book Confessions in that sense)



-Games "Played" (are vn's considered playing or reading???)-

Ghostpia: I’m somewhere in the middle of chapter 3 now (so a little over halfway I think, since there’s 5 chapters in total). Sayoko is an interesting character, and the rest of the cast is fun too. Sayoko is able to be a ‘relatable sad character ‘ but also makes cruel decisions towards anyone that basically aren’t her friends (coughs *Clara*). There’s hints of her backstory being put in which could also explain the whole ghost phenomenon.

12/3-12/10

First snow of the year, well more like flurries, so I don’t really know if it counts. I hope that actual snow comes soon though so I can wax poetic about it. Anyways life has basically been finals, stress, and staring wistfully off into the distance.

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

Gilgamesh: A Verse Narrative: eventually I’ll write my full thoughts on it but first i need to finish my damn paper. Anyways, short version- it’s good. Read it. Update: read my thoughts on it here.



-Games Played-

Ghostpia: I’ve been really excited to play this visual novel so I bought it immediately once it went on sale. Everything about this has been right up my alley. Good art, music, and writing. It feels a bit cozy yet has this melancholic introspection.



-Watched-

Skip and Loafer: sooo cute and wholesome, I had such a good time watching this.

11/25-12/2

School and work might be kicking my ass but I still have time to read manga and procrastinate :3

I changed layouts again for funsies. Finally learned what ‘iframes’ is through messing around with the template. One of these days I need to sit down and actually learn more than basic html and css…

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

Nora to Zassou: It’s sweet but sad. I’m really rooting for their happiness, but man it’s also sorta stressful. But ya know, found family is always nice.



Well, Shall I Murder Instead of You?: This scratched that edgy, sort of over-the-top antics that I was craving. The fact that all of this shit is happening but most of the cast is only 15. It’s prob gonna be explained later but rn I’m not gonna question why a 15 year old inherited a torture room and a gun. And also that Nishino literally survived having his fingers and ear ripped off, his face disfigured, yet he’s walking around for revenge the next day… also somehow managing to move after being shot twice. That man is built different ig.



Suicide Notes Laid on the Table: read my thoughts on it here.



Bedlam: An Intimate Journey Into America's Mental Health Crisis: read this for class. It’s pretty interesting and has a lot to say about how the healthcare system treats ppl with SMI.

11/17-11/24

I got some days off thanks to Thanksgiving Break :D after that it’s basically hustle time because of finals :(

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

Silver Gymnasium: read my thoughts on it here.



Goodbye, My Rose Garden: I read this series online about a year ago and really loved it. Recently, I bought the first volume so I figured I might as well reread it.



Seiren: not much to say, just a really solid horror manga



-Watched-

The Sound of the Sky: cute slice of life set in some European town

11/6-11/16

Welcome to my life of torment in which I must complete tasks everyday. I have soo much work I have to do for the next few weeks. But, enough of me being a dramatic college student! While I was procrastinating I took this enneagram test. Apparently I’m a type 9. That’s cool I guess.

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

Fire Punch: read my thoughts on it here.



The Pastoral Clinic: Addiction and Dispossession along the Rio Grande: Read this ethnography for my cultural anthropology class. It’s really good. I usually struggle reading stuff by academics™ because I get lost in all the technical jargon, but the prose and everything in this was so clear and well-written.



-Games Played-

Tomorrow Won’t Come for Those Without ██████: read my thoughts on it here.



-Watched-

I got sort of busy/lazy and haven’t really been keeping up the seasonal stuff… (except Apothecary Diaries).



Haibane Renmei: In my mind, Haibane Renmei is a ‘winter anime’ so I have no idea why I had the urge to rewatch the first episode during fall and when I’m busy. But I can’t get over the feeling this anime gives me. The first episode in particular had me so entranced, especially the scene when Rakka grows wings. Rewatching that scene I still get caught up in the intenseness. When I have more time (winter break pls come), I’ll probably rewatch the whole anime again. Idk, I just keep coming back to it because it gives me this dreamlike feeling.

10/30-11/5

It’s November 5th, or as SPN fans remember it: Destiel day. I will never forget the shitshow that was happening on tumblr.

Anyways, Halloween!!! I had a pretty fun time! I had class and stuff, but afterwards I finally started playing Hello Charlotte EP3. I also got a big bag of candy that I’m nowhere near finished with.

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

Kedamonotachi no Jikan: Well there sure is a lot going on here. Honestly, I was surprised because beneath all of the heinous shit is a genuinely compelling story that explores trauma. The first few chapters are very graphic, but once it moves past that into the more psychological stuff I got invested in the story. The latest chapters are actually giving me hope that maybe Airi can finally start to heal.



Song of Achilles: Read another chapter of these sad gay men. The dramatic irony of knowing that Patroclus is going to die too (and die first), yet seeing him angst about the future death of Achilles and thinking he can't live without him... that's the good stuff.



-Games Played-

Hello Charlotte EP3: read my thoughts on it here.

10/23-10/29

Started work. Work is fine. School is fine.

But more importantly it’s almost Halloween! yay! I’m thinking of dressing up as Willow from Don’t Starve. I’m planning to spend Halloween with my bestie, but he’s busy with voice acting lessons, and idk what we’re gonna do (prob just play games over discord). We sort of did a pre-Halloween celebration yesterday. We ate candy and watched Coraline, Heathers, and a bit of Ghost Stories.

Also, apparently my RightStuf account transferred into a crunchyroll account. I’m still a bit iffy on using crunchyroll, so I’ll wait and see what the consensus is on crunchyroll and manga. For now, I’ll remain pessimistic and cynical because I enjoy being a crunchyroll hater.

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

Shoulder-a-Coffin Kuro: Side Stories: you might recognize this one from last week’s log :D I couldn’t find translations of the extra stories online, and since I liked this manga so much I decided to just buy it. As expected, I really enjoyed this. There were a decent amount of vignettes, along with a really heartwarming bit at the end of Nijuku and Sanju’s “Fantasy Notes” (it was in full color too).



Song of Achilles: I’ve heard of this book before but I never felt motivated enough to read it. But, I recently “read” (sparknotes, my beloved) the Iliad for my Mythology class. We also ended up reading a short excerpt of this book too. I was drawn in by the prose, so I decided to read the whole book. I’m currently on chapter 15. I know this is going to end tragically, however I just can’t help but wish for the best for these two.



-Watched-

The same seasonal stuff. But also Apothecary Diaries!!!

10/14-10/22

I’m finished with midterms! Yipee! I’m also starting my job tomorrow :/

Also my Rightstuf (rip) order came in. I still haven’t figured out how I’m going to purchase manga now, since I don’t really want to make a Crunchyroll account. But, I’ll think about that later. Here’s a pic of the manga I bought:

I’m not really a completionist when it comes to manga. I like to just pick up volumes that I liked. Since I read everything online anyways I don’t see the point in purchasing the entire series (unless it’s short).

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

Jigoku Kurayami Hana Mo Naki: I’ve only read 3 chapters, but it seems pretty nice so far. Mystery with a slice of horror.



Happy End: Part of the mysteries have been answered. Spoilers: I wasn’t expecting the whole ‘this isn’t actually time travel’ twist. I definitely thought there was some government sketchy shit going on, but not like this. Anyways we only have 5 leaps left and just 2 more volumes before the end. I’m about to write something very cringe, but when Akane has to find out who their identity is, my first thought was ‘this is just like among us’. Also, tbh the frog thing is sort of goofy looking to me.



Bibliomania: Read my thoughts on it here.



Mahoutsukai to Aka no Pilgrim: Read my thoughts on it here.



-Watched-

same stuff as last week

10/3-10/13

It’s Friday the 13th :3

How spoopy. I still need to make Halloween plans,,, but idk what to do. Anyways, this was a hectic week. No one told me I’d be plagued by so many goddamn emails once I entered college. Everyday I must send and read emails. What is this hell we live in?

Oh and I had a job interview and got hired and stuff. Also, I have midterms coming up teehee

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

Witch of Thistle Castle: This is giving me a lot of Ancient Magus Bride vibes (similar set-ups just swapped genders). The magic system is interesting and I like the aesthetic of the world as a whole.



Takopi’s Original Sin: Read my thoughts on it here.



-Games Played-

I've linked their itch.io pages

Saint Spell's Loveguide to the Magical Student's Spellbook: I’m a newbie at dating sim type games, and I seem to severely suck at them. I’ve played the game twice and failed both Alucaid and Amy Tan’s routes. But, I think the art and everything is really cute. There’s a lot of characters to choose from as well, which honestly makes me a bit overwhelmed.



Feet in the Snow: I loved the atmosphere in this game, it really captures that surreal feeling of being in a dream. Despite the creepiness and slight horror elements, I never felt unperturbed, as if walking in a dream. Also the visuals were great. (btw I won’t dedicate a whole thing to this on my games page bc the game was very short).



-Watched-

I haven’t watched seasonal anime in a while (or actually any anime). But, there were a bunch of releases I was hyped for so this seems like it’ll be a fun season. (I am still waiting on Apothecary Diaries to air ;-;)

  • Frieren: Beyond Journey’s End
  • Tearmoon Empire Story
  • I’m in Love with the Villainess
  • Vexations of a Shut-In Vampire Princess

9/25-10/2

The rain has been pretty intense recently. I like rain because it sounds nice, the only downside is that there’s less sun. Well, the weather seems to be doing better now. I also had my job interview. It went okay… I think. They still haven’t sent me a follow-up email, so I probably didn’t get the job.



I have more bad news! Rightstuf is shutting down permanently. I know I pirate all my manga, but I still liked to purchase physicals for series that I really like. It sucks that the best site is being gobbled up by Crunchyroll in their pursuit for a monopoly over the Western anime industry.



Also, Novelupdates requires you to have an account now to view chapters?! Well, it’s not that bad, just a weird change… I didn’t even hear an announcement abt it or anything, I had to find this out through the forums.

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

Apologies, but my brain feels like mush and I don’t have the energy, so all my thoughts are really short.



Evil God Average: read my thoughts on it here.



Muyoku no Seijo wa Okane ni Tokimeku: Not much to say about this. Just a lighthearted misunderstanding comedy.



Fake Saint of the Year: Same ask Muyoku, a misunderstanding comedy (but the mc is purposefully acting this time :3)



Subaru to Suu-san: It’s cute but also a bit sad. I really hope they get a happy ending together.



How to Survive as a Maid in a Horror Game: These cliffhangers are killing meee, I’m so tempted to just read the LN.



-Watched-

Frieren: Beyond Journey’s End: This is finally getting an anime adaptation! I was so hyped for this premier, and it didn’t disappoint.

9/17-9/24

Another lovely week of me moping around. I have a fun(?) experience to share. So basically, I accidentally took the wrong bus on the way home. And then I died! It was a whole fiasco getting home, but in hindsight this wasn’t that serious of an issue. However, I had a great time internally panicking for an hour. Anyways, I have a job interview in a few days. I really hope that it goes well.

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

Been in a romance mood lately :3



The Summer You Were There: I fucking love angst.



Kashoku no Shiro: Demons and flowers, an interesting combo. This has been a pretty good manga. The story is cool, especially the stuff with the demons (the plot is thickening with the introduction of the demon hunters). But I’m not really that invested in the romance. I’m still on chapter 16, but I just don’t really feel a lot of chemistry between them. Spoilers: I mean, Shiroume literally views him as her savior and herself more like a servant so uhh not really a romantic relationship so far.



A Condition Called Love: There’s nothing wrong with this manga, but I’m dropping it for entirely personal reasons. Basically, I relate wayyyy too much to Hotaru in her struggle to understand love. As an aroace person, her musings about just ‘not getting it’ really hit me. But, since this is a romance I know she’s going to fall in love with Hananoi. And because I’m projecting onto her way too goddamn much I just can’t bear to see her fall in love.



-Games Played-

Butterfly Soup: Read my thoughts on it here.



-Watched-

Bloom into You: I’m finally watching the (probably) most popular gl right now. I considered reading the manga, but I decided to watch the anime first. I’m currently on episode 7. It’s quite sweet, and I like all the characters. Once again, I’m relating wayyy too much to Yuu in her difficulty with understanding love. However, there is another character who I’m pretty sure is meant to be aroace.



Also also, the Freiran anime is coming out soon!! I’m so hyped for that 2 hour premier!! plus there’s Apothecary Diaries coming this season :D

9/10-9/16

It’s been a pretty uneventful week. I finished up my essay and draft, and I have another essay due soon (plus my second draft for my research proposal, which my first draft has some of the most half-assed writing I’ve ever done). I’ve been struggling to get out of my comfort zone. I spend all my free time in between classes at the library, and I can’t get myself to really interact with others. I went to a club meeting, but I freaked out because there were so many people and talking was difficult so I left early. My brain is fried thinking about juggling academics and a social life TwT

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

Lemme preface this by saying that I am currently in the midst of recovering from a fucking harry potter fanfic obsession. Which, I have a lot of thoughts on the og Harry Potter. First off, JK Rowling is just an awful person and I don’t support her in any way. Also, I was never the biggest Harry Pooter fan as a kid. Probably because I’ve always been biased and like hard magic systems more. HOWEVER, fanfiction is a magical place and I really enjoy how people have reimagined the story (it's free of antisemitism, transphobia, and characters + worldbuilding is better whoohoo).



Snakes Keep Their Secrets- Hawk_and_Hawthorne: Re-read this masterpiece again. One of my favorites.



To Trust- clairdeloon: I’m still reading this one :p Abuse, depression, and Harry Potter slowly learning to trust.



The Changeling- Annerb: This one was soo good. Basically it’s about if Ginny Weasley was sorted into slytherin.

8/31-9/9

My birthday happened this week. I’m 18 now (oh no). I got this very tasty mango cake. Also, through manipulative practices (asking very nicely) I got my older sibling to buy me this white noise machine. It’s so cool and it also has other options for noise, plus it can also work as a night light. I usually play either rain sounds or brown noise. Anyways, college has been okay (lies). I’ve got weekly readings for every class, which isn’t that bad. But I have a shit ton of essays I need to write. Actually, in a few days I have 2 essays due (one of them is only a research proposal draft tho, so I should be fine).

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

Spectral Wizard: Saikyou no Mahou wo Meguru Bouken: Read my thoughts on it here.



Witch Hat Atelier: I’m on vol. 9 chapter 47 now! Uhhh there’s a lot of stuff that I could write about. So lemee just speedrun my thoughts. Spoilers:uncovered more of Qifrey’s past,,, it’s still pretty mysterious since magical amnesia and all. Also Qifrey wiping Olruggio’s memory had me like :0 // Agat is also getting character development. I’m pretty sure she views Coco as a friend by now (even if she won’t admit it). Also, the stuff with her past is interesting. It makes sense why she’s so motivated. // The stuff with Custas was sooo TwT just when things were looking good shit hits the fan, and now I’m wondering what’s going to happen to him. Nothing good, I assume.



-Games Played-

ACNH: I had a “surprise” birthday party with Kevin, Bob, and Teddy ^_^ I got a bunch of cupcakes from breaking a pinata, so I gave them to my villagers. Teddy gave me a birthday cake as a present and I got another homemade cake from Mom (it’s so cute).



Project Diva: I FC’d my first song in hard mode :3 (It was Electric Angel). In other news, I still suck at extreme mode. I’m very slowly making progress with it.



Liar Princess and the Blind Prince: I forgot this was on my wishlist until I got notified this was on sale. I figured why not get it (as a little treat). The game is very cute and I like the story. The mechanics are pretty simple so far, but I have no complaints.



Also, I pwomise I’ll play Hello Charlotte Ep:3 when I stop procrastinating (aaand also finish playing Butterfly Soup).

8/24-8/30

Coleg has started. Pain and suffering awaits me. But tbh, none of my classes are hard per-say, just a lot of work (and I am lazy as hell). I wish this could be like highschool where I got good grades then went home and slept, but alas I must do things. I’ve also been scrambling to get a job because I don’t want to be broke. Oh, and as for that event thing I mentioned last week… I ended up not going :3 (my excuse is that it was raining). Lastly, updates will probably be slowing down as I get myself situated for college.

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

Spectral Wizard: Read my thoughts on it here.



-Games Played-

ACNH: Now that Apple’s gone, I have Murphy on my island. He is an ugly, green bear and I will cherish him dearly. Also, Celeste showed up on my island. I didn’t see any shooting stars tho :( , but I did get a recipe for a Virgo Harp, so that’s cool.



Project Diva: It’s been a while since I’ve played, so now I suck again. I used to be able to play a few songs in extreme mode, but now I’m back to only hard mode (please imagine me solemnly looking in the distance). I find that this game is good for relieving stress, since I seem to go into a trance and blank out for the next few hours.



Butterfly Soup: Just gay girls being gay innit (and also playing baseball). I was worried if the humor would hold up at first (this came out in 2017ish) but there was no need to worry because this vn is pretty funny. It’s also very cute, all the characters are very likeable. Diyamin is such a cute ship name. Also also, I appreciate that the cast is all Asian (like me). The subplot about asian parents and their expectations and pressures with school is soo real.

8/17-8/23

I’m starting college soon (oh no). I’ve been feeling really nervous and overwhelmed but I’ll try to be optimistic about all this. I’m trying to step out of my comfort zone, so I decided to attend this party/event thing the college is hosting for first-gen students tmrw (the more I think about it, the more I don’t want to go). Let's just hope for the best.

-Weekly(ish) Reads-

Shoulder-a-Coffin Kuro: I’ve completed it! Read my thoughts on it here.



Witch Hat Atelier: This has been on my TBR list for the longest time, and I’ve finally started it! So far, I’ve read up to vol. 4. It seems like the main plot has really picked up, and I’m assuming vol. 5 will showcase more of the brimmed caps. I’m really loving this manga. The art is sooo pretty and detailed. And oh my gosh I loved the worldbuilding and the magic system is so cool (I love hard magic systems so much). When it comes to characters, Coco is a solid, well-written protagonist. I have been waiting on Agot’s character development, which is very gradually occurring. She’s very slowly accepting Coco as a friend. As for Qifrey, I just want to know what the deal is with him. For the most part, he’s a caring mentor but he has so many sus moments (plss I need his backstory).



How to Survive as a Maid in a Horror Game: 4 chapters now (yay). That fucking cliffhanger though TwT This manhwa is great at creating tense moments. The pace has been slow so far, but it sets up the atmosphere I guess. I’m getting whiplash from it bouncing from horror to comedy. From the spoilers I’ve read, it seems like Adrian is a yandere. I know people meme on blue eyes a lot, but Adrian is the literal definition of scary blue eyes. Almost every panel he’s in, his blue eyes are just glowing.



-Games Played-

ACNH: I finally kicked Apple out of my Island!!!! After months of ignoring her and hitting her with a net, she’s finally gone!!

btw I’m planning on playing Hello Charlotte EP3 and Butterfly Soup soon.

8/13-8/16

Alright, so I’ve scrapped the original diary because focusing on my life was making me sad. Going forward, I’ll simply be logging the media I’ve consumed in the past week(ish) along with my thoughts.

-Weekly(more like 3 days) Reads-

Shoulder-a-Coffin Kuro: I’m in the middle of Volume 6 right now. More plot stuff has been revealed and it’s always fun to see things tie together. I’m so sad that I’m nearing the end of this manga ;w; I’ve loved absolutely everything about it. The art, story, themes, it’s all so alluring and beautiful. Well, what’s good about slice of life is that I can always reread chapters.



The Mercenary and the Novelist: Not sure why but this is giving me Spice and Wolf vibes? It’s probably since they’re both seinen/fantasy which features 2 bickering leads who are travelling together, but my brain will not stop drawing comparisons. I love the humor of this manga, witty dialogue and stuff like that. The worldbuilding is also cool (while it’s not necessarily original, I can tell that it’s been carefully thought out).



How to Survive as a Maid in a Horror Game: I read a few chapters of the light novel a while ago, I didn’t remember much other than that the premise was intriguing. I decided to check out the manhwa adaptation and it slaps. There’s still only 2 chapters out but it looks promising. Art is great and I hope there’ll be more horror in upcoming chapters :D



Happy End: omg I checked back on this manga and it was actually updated (i think it was on hiatus for 6 months). I had to reread everything again since I forgot a lot of details. The set-up and premise of this manga really remind me of Higurashi. Spoilers:like seriously the peaceful, countryside village which lulls you into a false sense of security and then BAM! fucked up shit is happening. Plus a time loop situation? It's like Higurashi if it was more moe. If you like cute girls and horror, I’d recommend this.

©repth